Our Sponsors

Our Partners

England Hockey Board logo
Surbiton High School logo
Suburban Hockey logo
Living Hockey Logo 2
Reeds School logo
Cheeky Monkeys logo

Upcoming Events

Men's and Ladies Playday

Calendar Icon
Date: 2015-09-05
The Men's and Ladies Playday takes place on 5 September. Ladies Playday starts at 12.15 pm and...

What's On at Surbiton HC →

Surbiton Featured News Story

England Women Are Euro Champions

England’s women are the Unibet EuroHockey Champions after beating the Netherlands 3-1 on a shootout after a 2-2 draw in normal time on Sunday afternoon at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre.

The Netherlands seemed to be heading home with the trophy after Caia Van Maasakker converted penalty corners in the 40th and 43rd minutes to give the Dutch a two goal lead at the end of the third quarter.

England wouldn’t give up and responded with two penalty corner conversions of their own in the fourth quarter.

Former Surbiton player, Sophie Bray, now with East Grinstead, pulled one back in the 52nd minute, before the University of Birmingham’s Lily Owsley equalised two minutes later.

Having pulled level, the momentum swung towards England when they led 3-0 in the shootout through Reading’s Helen Richardson-Walsh and Alex Danson and Bray.

Holcombe’s Maddie Hinch had denied Willemijn Bos and Lidewij Welten before Ellen Hoog reduced the deficit to 3-1.

When Surbiton’s Georgie Twigg failed to score from England’s fourth shuffle, the momentum threatened to swing back towards the Netherlands, but Hinch saved from Eva De Goede to give England their first European title since 1991 in Brussels.

England lift the Unibet  EuroHockey Championships trophy. Credit Chris Lee

England lift the Unibet EuroHockey Championship Trophy at Lee Valley. Photo: Chris Lee.

Surbiton’s Hollie Webb was in England’s starting line-up, with Twigg coming on in the fifth minute, and Giselle Ansley entering the pitch in the eighth minute.

Twigg described the feeling of being a European Champion as “simply unbelievable, it’s surreal and it’s not sunk in yet!”

Twigg explained England’s ability to come back from two goals down as “We dug in for the moment and when we scored we just dug in even further.”

England v Holland Ladies_Webb Twigg and Ansley low

Surbiton’s Hollie Webb, Georgie Twigg and Giselle Ansley proudly display their EuroHockey Championship Gold Medals. Photo: Tim Reder Photography.

Danson was the Woman of the Tournament, whilst Van Maasakker finished the tournament as top scorer with five goals.

Germany’s Yvonne Frank was named Goalkeeper of the Tournament.

Colin Pike

Club Information


Registration for the 2015/16 Season is available online.

The Senior Subscriptions have been held at the 2014/15 prices; Colts Subscriptions have increased slightly across the categories.

To register please go to the Membership pages of this website and use the links on the page to access the Paysubsonline database if you are a Colt  (click here) or the Fixtures Live database if you are a Senior member  (click here).  Member are requested to check their personal information is up to date.  Senior members will be sent an invoice for subs prior to the season starting.  Colts should pay online before 1st September.

* Social Summer hockey for Seniors has commenced on Tuesday evenings, 7.30pm – 9.30pm.

* Adult Pre-Season – all members will be welcome to attend Summer Fitness and Hockey Training sessions being held on every Monday in August starting on 3rd August. Each session will consist of one hour of fitness and one hour of hockey, from 7.30 pm to 9.30 pm.

* The Colts Training schedules are availabe on the Colts Training page of this website.  Term begins on Tuesday 1st September for older Colts; Sunday 13th September for those in Junior Academy.

* Seniors Play Day – Saturday 5th September. Ladies @ 12.15pm – 2.15pm. Men @ 2.30 – 5pm.

** For those needing a new mouthguard, OPRO will be at SHC on Tuesday 1st September from 6pm – 8pm.  Please log onto their website www.opro.com to book an appointment for a fitting.**